Governance of the Society

The Academy is governed by a Council, elected by the Fellows, which is responsible for managing the affairs of the organisation. Election and admissions of Fellows is through nomination, followed by a rigorous review and selection process. Founding Fellows were admitted following review by a team nominated by the Federation of European Academies of Medicine. The Inaugural Council comprises the following membership:

  • Professor Noel Gerard McElvaney, (RCSI/ Beaumont Hospital)
  • Professor Seamas Donnelly (UCD/ St. Vincent’s Hospital)
  • Professor Laurence Egan (NUI Galway/ University College Hospital Galway)
  • Professor Orla Hardiman (RCSI/ Beaumont Hospital)
  • Professor Brian Harvey (RCSI)
  • Professor Elaine Kay (RCSI/ Beaumont Hospital)
  • Professor Dermot Kelleher (Imperial College London and formerly TCD and St. James’s Hospital)
  • Professor Cormac Taylor (UCD).

Honorary Officers of the Society:

  • Responsibilities of the Council are effected through the Honorary Officers of the Academy, who are also elected by the Fellows.  Inaugural Honorary Officers are:
  • Professor Noel Gerard McElvaney, Honorary President
  • Professor Orla Hardiman, Honorary Secretary
  • Professor Seamus Donnelly, Honorary Treasurer.